Book Giveaway Worth USD 20

One of the highlights of the Book Blogger Appreciation Week or BBAW is the huge (and I mean HUUUGGGEEEE) bunch of contests and games. Most blogs, if not all, would host one or two, with books and other swags as the major prizes. But the real strength of BBAW is the growing community of bloggers and readers who are committed to make reading a pleasure that should be enjoyed by everyone.
Here in The Traveling Reader, I would like to take part in this yearly celebration by hosting a contest as my way of saying thank you to everyone who stopped by and left kind words. It was only this year that I have become serious about blogging and reading, that’s why I’m paying back to the reading community by hosting a book giveaway. Yup, you read that right. CONTEST ALERT!!! Read on to find out more.πŸ˜‰



DETAILS:

  1. This giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY.
  2. To qualify, you must be 13 years old or older.
  3. Since I’ll be using THE BOOK DEPOSITORY (TBD), you have to make sure that TBD has the book or books you want AND if TBD will ship to your country. Please click here to see the list of countries that TBD delivers to.
  4. To join, simply comment on this post with your NAME, EMAIL and WHAT BOOKS YOU’D LIKE TO RECEIVE SHOULD YOU WIN & WHY YOU LIKE THAT/THEM (I’m fishing for titles. Who knows? Might spring another contest in the near future. *wink*)
  5. You can get + 1 extra entry if you tweet this contest (Please mention @travelingreadr) or post this on Facebook (+1). You have to indicate in the comments the specific links to the tweets or fb posts.
  6. Get another extra +1 entry if you could include any SUGGESTION/S on how The Traveling Reader can be improved (i.e., new sections or topics I should be introducing, etc.)
  7. This blogger reserves the right to edit your comments or delete unnecessary information. Spammers prohibited.
  8. I will be assigning each participant a number and will be using www.random.org to draw the winner.
  9. Deadline for submission of entries: September 30, 2011 at 11:30 PM Philippine Time.
  10. Winner will be entitled to a book or books of his or her own choice worth USD 20.00 or less (or negotiable). For example, if the winner has picked 2 books with an accumulated sum of $21.00, I will still consider that provided that the excess must not reach $3.00.
  11. This blogger will not provide the extra amount for intended purchases not reaching $20. For example, if the book/books that the winner chose has an accumulated sum of only $19.50, this blogger will not provide the extra 50 cents. The winner will only get the books that he chose. No monetary remuneration will be provided.
  12. Winner will be contacted through email. Upon replying, winner must provide his/her NAME, COMPLETE MAILING ADDRESS, NAME + ISBN OF THE BOOK/BOOKS he/she has chosen from THE BOOK DEPOSITORY (direct links to the books on the online store is very much welcome).
  13. Winner may opt to send a short bio plus a photo of him/her (along with the prize) for this blog’s purposes. However, this will not be required.
  14. Winner releases this blog and this blogger from any liability regarding the delivery and the state of the book/books upon receipt. The responsibility of this blogger only extends up to the awarding of the prizes.
  15. Winner must contact me if the book or books have not arrived based on THE BOOK DEPOSITORY’s estimated time of arrival. However, I will not be able to guarantee that TBD will issue a refund or a replacement.
  16. My immediate family is disqualified from entering the contest lest I be accused of rigging the results.πŸ™‚
  17. Following this blog (and encouraging others to do so) is not a requirement but something I would greatly appreciate. If interested, you can follow me on twitter: @travelingreadr. ^_^

EDITED TO ADD: You can check the updates to the contest on this post:
https://thetravelingreader.wordpress.com/2011/09/23/contest-update-book-giveaway-intl/

NOTE: A lot of people has sworn that The Book Depository lives up to its business model. However, if you have reservations about their capacity to delivery, especially if your location is so out of the way (provided that they still deliver to your country), then may I suggest to just join the contest for the fun of it.πŸ˜‰

——————————————————-
Artwork Β© The Traveling Reader, 2011.
Fonts and other accents were downloaded from various internet sources.

79 thoughts on “Book Giveaway Worth USD 20

    • Didn’t know that a biography was available. I’ve read about her story on wikipedia once and I think a lot of people are indebted to her for her contribution to science. Thanks for the entry, Sab!πŸ˜‰

    • Did you join the #1book140?πŸ™‚ I didn’t but I’m “reading” this book (using audiobook though)πŸ˜€ interesting! I’m joining but I still couldn’t decide which book/s to getπŸ˜›

  1. I’d like to enter!
    Shannon – cuteboring_love @ hotmail . com
    I would pick the following books:
    When God Was a Rabbit ($9.44) – I’ve been hearing so many great reviews on this book that I MUST read it!
    and The Hunger Games ($4.49) – Once again, great reviews! And I want to read it before seeing the movie.

    I shall tweet you also (my username is @eatupmyfreetime)

  2. Oh i would love to add to my pile of goodness – thanks!
    I tweeted (@bookdout) but I haven’t got any suggestions since I’m a new follower.
    Hmm and if I am lucky enough to win I’d choose:
    Addition: http://www.bookdepository.com/Addition-Toni-Jordan/9780340963777 – it has been on my wishlist forever and the premise intrigues me – an OCD romantic heroine
    Taboo by Casey Hill http://www.bookdepository.com/Taboo-Casey-Hill/9781849833721 – I love a good serial killer thriller!

    Shelleyrae
    bookd.out at gmail dot com

    • Hi, Shelleyrae! Glad you could join the contest and thanks for tweeting!πŸ™‚
      I’ve read about Jordan’s Addition somewhere and my, the cover was just super cute. Good luck!πŸ˜‰

  3. Great giveaway, Mauie! I’d love a chance to win KILLING RITES by MLN Hanover and/or GRAIL by Elizabeth Bear. They’re both continuations in series I’ve been following. The Hanover is part of my current favourite urban fantasy series, while the Bear is the conclusion to a far-future science fiction trilogy that captured my imagination early last year.

    –Memory
    xicanti AT gmail.com

    • You’ve always had eclectic taste in books, Memory. Thanks for joining. Good luck!πŸ˜‰

  4. Hi there!..you’re from Cebu?me too! would love to see you in person.. you have a Great blog! and giveaway!hehe❀
    Jeemah Villaverde
    jeemah_vill@yahoo.com

    would love to have The Digital Photography Book: v. 3 or v4 (if available). i'm an newbie and an aspiring photog..:) since i LOVE travelling and taking random pictures, this book would be a another stepping stone for me! I have that point-and-click-instinct since i dont know when!haha sooo YAAY! Fingers-crossed for this giveway! thankss!πŸ™‚

    tweeted:

    • Oh, a budding photographer. Good luck, Jeemah!πŸ˜‰
      Yup, I’m from Cebu. Taga-Talisay, actually. Hehe

  5. Super cool contest!
    Being an amateur home baker who has decided to master the art of baking cupcakes, I hope to win Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans http://www.bookdepository.com/Cupcakes-Elinor-Klivans/9780811845458 to enhance my knowledge and also bring me a step closer to baking yummy, delicious cupcakes! I really hope I win! @_@

    P.S.
    I tweeted about this giveaway:

    Best of luck to me, LOL!

    Donna P
    burntcaramel at yahoo dot com

    • I’m glad that you decided to try the giveaway. Good luck to your passions, Donna! Hope you win.πŸ˜‰

  6. Oh, awesome giveaway! I always like winner’s choiceπŸ˜‰ Okay, so here is what I’m thinking:

    Sean Griswold’s Head by Lindsey Leavitt
    The cover is adorable and I love the idea of how the MC interprets her assignment from the counsellor. It sounds cute but also like it has some substance.

    + The Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon
    Ireland! Cute boys! Pretty cover!

    Thanks so much for the giveaway!

    thestoryqueen(at)hotmail(dot)com

    • Glad you like the contest. Carrier of the Mark sounds intriguing, too! Good luck, Sonia!πŸ˜‰

  7. Finally, I’m joining!πŸ™‚ Took me sometime because I forgot the title of the book I was eyeing on, haha!

    The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
    I got intrigued by one of it’s reviews saying it was an “HP meets HG” book (thanks by the way for that Mockingjay heads up last year- I started reading HG then but just finished the series last month!:P).

    I also like When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (assuming I do get to win and claim that $20 :p). I heard that this book was inspired by the Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time, which is, my favorite book of all!

    Tweeted:
    http://twitter.com/#!/si_monette/status/115609525263933441

    Shared on FB:

    Simonette
    monette_893 @ hotmail . com

    • I’m always amazed at how different the taste of readers are. Bought A Wrinkle in Time in Vigan but I think I might have read it when I wasn’t ready for “sci-fi-ish” kind of books that’s why I didn’t like it then. But might re-read it. Thanks to you. Hehe
      Good luck, Nette!πŸ˜‰
      BTW, I’m also intrigued about McMann’s The Unwanteds. Sounds like something I could like. If you win it, let me borrow nya ha.πŸ˜€

      • I was still a kid when I first read the book.πŸ™‚ Back then, I got amazed with the idea that a straight line wasn’t the shortest distance between two points (tesseract). Maybe that’s why I loved the book a lot. And it’s the only book I’ve read over and over again haha!

  8. Pingback: Book Giveaway Worth USD 20 (via The Traveling Reader) « Nowhere Near Perfect

    • Glad you could join, Spav!πŸ˜‰
      The cover for Anna Dressed in Blood is really cute, too. Plus it’s been raved over at Goodreads so hope you win! ^_^

  9. Hello!! I’d love to win this contest so I can get my hands on a copy of Shut Out by Kody Keplinger, because the cover’s just fierce! Thank you for your generosityπŸ™‚

    Jade
    dreamsandfreefalls AT gmail DOT com

    • Yup, they couldn’t have found a better cover than that. Luv it, too! Good luck, Jade!πŸ˜‰

  10. If I win, I would choose The Near Witch by Victoria Schwaab. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it!

    Chan
    fchants(at)hotmail(dot)com

    • I’ve been meaning to get a copy of that one, too. Hehe
      Good luck, Chan! Thanks for dropping by.πŸ™‚

  11. Hello, I would recommend A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth; epic, sprawling novel set in India about the search for a suitable partner for young girl, Lata. My favourite book of all time. Thank you for your giveaway! Ceri
    Email cerievans1[at]gmail[dot]com

    • Even the title sounds scrumptious (as I’ve come to expect novels by Indian authors). Incidentally, I’m friends with author Chandru Bhojwani who was kind enough to send me a copy of his book, The Journey of Om, for review. Perhaps you might want to check it out, too.

      Thanks for joining, Ceri! Best of luck!πŸ˜‰

  12. Omg you’re so generous! It’s so hard to pick a book but Ive been wanting to read The Night Circus for ages…it sounds really unique! Plus we all know it’s good to read something that differs from our usual tastes every once in awhile…:P

    Leaving my email just in case!

    mandyock(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    • Hello, Mandy! Glad you could join. Thanks for saying I’m generous but sometimes I wish I were really rich so that I could be more generous. Hehe
      The Night Circus has been touted as the next Harry Potter. Would be good if you win and find that out yourself. Good luck!πŸ˜‰

      • Well, this is already generous enough of you, but here’s wishing you wealth and prosperity anyway!:) I love Harry so TNC should be great too, thanks once again haha.

  13. Oh wow! Thank you for inviting me, Mauie! I’ve shared the link on my blog.πŸ™‚
    Fantastic giveaway! I’m not sure which book I want at the moment, but I have a huge wishlist, so it won’t be a problem to choose.πŸ™‚
    I have to point out though, that we can only send you direct links for what we want in TBD if we live in Phillipines. I don’t know if you aware, but TBD have different prices for each country. For example, US prices are always cheaper than UK. So for me to see how much the book will cost you I need to use proxy to go on TBD website in PhillipinesπŸ™‚
    Cheers,
    Karina
    impy80 at hotmail dot com

    • So happy you could join, Karina.πŸ™‚
      And nope, I wasn’t aware that TBD offers different prices for their books. It will actually be my first time to buy one from them. Glad that you pointed that out. A little difference in prices might not be such a problem if it’s not too big a difference. Hehe
      Good luck! Good luck!πŸ˜‰

    • Oh, thank you for the kind words, Sofija. I’m happy you joined. And I know of another reader who’s so into the Kate Daniels series much like you are.πŸ™‚
      Good luck! ^_^

  14. Thank you so much for making this international!=) I would pick What Happened To Goodbye by Sarah Dessen, she’s a fabulous author and I’ve read every book of hers except for this one.

    Name: Stella
    Email: stellajjay (at) gmail (dot) com

    • My wish list gets longer with the cool books I hear from all the fabulous people. Hehe
      Thanks for joining, Stella! May you win!πŸ™‚

  15. First I want to thank you for making the giveaway international! If I was lucky enough to win I would love to get my hands on million books but two of those books are The hunger games by Suzanne Collins and One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost. It was hard to pick the second book but the first is on the top of my to-read list for some time now!

    My name is Martina and here’s my email:
    by_myself@mail.bg

    +1 for a tweet:

    Thanks again for the awesome giveaway!
    Marti

    • Haha. I guess us readers are all the same in wanting to have everything on our wish lists.πŸ˜€
      THG is a personal favorite so I can recommend it with gusto that, yes, go ahead, read it. Hoping you win so you can find out how great it is!πŸ™‚

  16. Hi mau.. nice blog you got here. Here’s what i have in mind:

    HUNGER GAMES trilogy by Suzanne Collins – I only have the 1st book, wish to complete the whole set

    THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO by Stieg Larsson – I hear a lot of good comments bout this book.. hope i can get one of these=)

    Hope I win=) any of these books will make me and my wife happy.

    • Hi, Dadad!
      Thanks for dropping by and joining. Your kind words made my Friday.πŸ™‚

      Oh, nice choice and rather popular ones. Hope you win!πŸ™‚
      (Just in case you don’t, I can loan you my hunger games series..just in case lang..hehe)

  17. Ooh thank you for this awesome giveaway! You’ve got a great blog here~ My pick would be a preorder of Amplified by Tara Kelly and maybe This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen? Argh how can you make us choose?!

  18. Hi Mau,

    Join ko! hehe

    Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay- the cover looks intriguing=) as well as the readers review:)

    love you blog:)

    • Nice choice. Pardon my ignorance though as I haven’t heard of it until now. Hehe
      Good luck, Des! I appreciate your exploring the blog.πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Contest Update: Book Giveaway (INTL) | The Traveling Reader

  20. hi ! Thanks for this great giveaway ! I think I would love to read Blood Rights by Kristen Painter, I’ve heard so good thing about it and now I’m very curious to read it. I just love Urban fantasy books ! I would love too to read Shadow Kin By M. J. Scott, for the same reason and because I really like to read fairy’s books.

  21. One book I’m longing to own would be The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle. It’s not the most original plot ever, but my friend has been telling me about how good it is so I’m super excited to read it!

    • Been seeing that it’s getting great reviews on Goodreads. Best of luck, Sky!πŸ˜‰

    • I must say that your choices intrigued me. Thanks for joining, Margaret. Hope you win!πŸ˜‰

  22. Im hoping to get a copy of Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone! Although I have read it before countless of times, I never owned it myself and had to borrow from friends:(

    magicinlaughter(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Seems like I’m not the only HP fan who doesn’t have any of the books. I won Deathly Hallows from a friend’s blog and it’s the only HP book that I have now. I hope I can change your luck for you, Claire. Here’s to hoping you win!πŸ˜‰

  23. Heylo!:D I’m dying to get myself a copy of The Hunger Games (though I hope we get to change our minds if we win?:P) and maybe one of the sequels as well!

    With regards to how you can improve your blog…maybe you could add in an 80s rewind kind of segment where you introduce older books? New books are being spotlighted all the time but once they get old, they’re usually pushed aside!

    zestmiller AT gmail DOT com

    • Seems like THG is a real popular choice. And yes, you can change your choice of book should you win (as long as I haven’t ordered it yet ;)).

      Brilliant suggestion, Zest. Thanks so much. Will definitely try to work that out. Glad you could join!πŸ˜‰

    • Ashes sounds pretty intriguing. Even more so with Divergent (although it’s been compared to THG a lot).
      Hehe. Believe me, Pranali, been thinking of migrating to Blogger because of the widgets that you can add. But I thought better against it since there are some WP thingies that are quite cool. But thanks for the suggestion. And good luck!πŸ˜‰

    • I will still give you +1 additional entry for the suggestion. However, I don’t think I can change my blogging platform now.πŸ™‚

    • Ooh, so it was you who tweeted the giveaway in German. Man, that gave me shivers. Hehe.
      Thanks for the dropping by and for joining the contest. And good luck, good luck, good luck or as you say in German, Viel GlΓΌck!πŸ˜‰

  24. Thanks for the giveaway! One book I would choose is Anna and the French Kiss because I’ve heard so many good things about it on Goodreads and book blogs alike.

    My suggestion is to maybe have a cover feature every now and then! One should never judge a book by its cover, but one can be influenced to read a book because of its cover haha.

    • Ooh. You won’t regret reading that. Was able to borrow a copy and read it yesterday and it was really really good considering that it was the author’s debut novel. You will fall in love with Etienne and Paris the way I did.πŸ˜€

      Speaking of covers, I do feature covers from time to time – Cover Cravings – based on themes. I’d like it very much if you could check that out or if you could suggest the next theme I should go by. Thanks for the suggestion though. Will still credit you with +1 entry. Glad you could join, Heidi!πŸ˜‰

  25. Wow, I can’t believe you actually reply to all the comments-that’s really sincere! When I had a blog I always had such a hard time responding to comments, not because I didn’t like them but because it took me so much time. So yeah, kudos to you for your effort!!:))

    Hmm, the book I would choose is probably Memoirs of A Geisha by Arthur Golden. It’s not exactly common but it was made into a movie some time back and I loved it!

    As for the suggestion, maybe you could have a monthly poll or reader survey to get to know what your readers like about or want from your blog…if you’re not doing it already! :)) Its great to get constructive feedback from followers, no?

    • Hehe. I don’t always but I try to do that as much as possible. Well, okay, I enjoy seeing new comments being posted (except for spam) that’s why I’d love to reply to each and every one of them as much as I can.πŸ˜€

      The movie was splendid but some say it didn’t hold a candle to the novel (sorry, I haven’t read the novel, too). Hope you win it. And oh, thanks for the suggestion. I’m not sure when I’d be able to do that on here but I will work something out.

      Good luck, Anastasia!πŸ˜‰

  26. If I win, I’d take Eve by Anna Carey! The whole plot sounds really unique and I’m a sucker for dystopian reads so that would be perfect for me ^^

    Suggestion: I’ve noticed that many blogs have a section where they organise their book reviews in alphabetical order so it’s easy for readers to find a particular review they want to go back to. This can also be done for any features or extras such as author interviews and giveaways like this one!

    fatlittleraindrops[AT]gmail[DOT]com

    • Dystopian reads have sure been cropping up like mushrooms and are eagerly devoured by us hungry readers. Must be taxing for authors to come up with unique scenarios for their books to stand out but we do appreciate their efforts.πŸ˜€

      Wow. I never thought of doing that. Probably because I haven’t done much reviews yet (but I do read a lot behind the scenes..hehe). But a great suggestion, nonetheless. One I would keep in mind when I organize stuff on the blog again. Thanks so much. Good luck!πŸ˜‰

  27. If I win I’d like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (I love books about people who love books), and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (it sounds fascinating and creepy and magical; also, cool vintage photographs).

    Tweet:

    Thanks for the chance to win!

    – Allie

    icecreamavalanche (at) gmail (dot) com

    • Great choices. Am especially fond of the Guernsey novel. It just sounds so dreamy. You’ll tell me what you think of them should you win ha. Good luck, Allie!πŸ˜‰

  28. I would choose a preorder of Shatter Me, just because I’ve heard the romance is absolutely sizzling!

    I would like to suggest a photo diary section on your blog so we can see a collection of all your gorgeous traveling picturesπŸ™‚

    • Not to mention a cute cover, too!πŸ˜‰

      Ooh. A photo diary sounds really cool. Will let you know as soon as I get that done. Thanks for the suggestion, Felicia. Hope you enjoy Shatter Me when you win! ^_^

  29. Pingback: Guest Post: Carrier of the Mark (Book Review by and an Introduction to Felicia of A Novel Paradise) | The Traveling Reader

Comments are closed.